Leaving Research Lab Help?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Emily-Premed

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman and I started working at this research lab a few months ago. At first I was so excited to even be in a research lab but I quickly found that I didn't enjoy it at all. The research is not interesting to me anymore and I find what I am doing to be incredibly boring. The hours are long and unpredictable and are interfering with my schoolwork. My biggest problem with the lab however, is that the environment is incredibly toxic. The people in my lab are not friendly and barely talk to me. My mentor is incredibly rude and jumps on any chance to tell me what I'm doing wrong and how I am not cut out for this lab. She has left me completely stressed out because nothing that I do ever seems to be good enough for her even though I have dedicated so much of my time.

I know that I have to quit but I have no idea how to bring it up to my PI. He has been nothing but kind to me and has given me great opportunities and will certainly not see this coming. I don't like disappointing people and do not want him to feel like I am letting him down. I still would like to explore research in another area, I just know that this isn't the right place for me.

Members don't see this ad.