Letter Of Recommendation Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hmlaa

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All!

I am currently a 1st year Pharmacy student and after 1 year in pharmacy and a few months at an equine rescue center, I am positive I want to be an Equine Veterinarian. My parents encouraged me into pharmacy school, while my heart was with veterinary medicine. Long story short, they are supportive as long as I get accepted into a well respected school of veterinary medicine but the deal is that if I don't get accepted into veterinary school, I'll remain in pharmacy school. Anyway, I have the perquisites at a graduate level but I am stuck at the letters of recommendation since I am between a rock and a hard place. I currently have a 4.0 GPA after 2 quarters of my pharmacy program, but I am wondering who/how I should ask for that critical professor letter of recommendation. Does anyone have any ideas/any polite ideas of how to ask for a LOR?

Anything helps, thank you in advance!

hmlaa

Members don't see this ad.

How are you positive that you want to be an equine veterinarian?

That's like saying you want to become a pediatrician because you volunteered at an orphanage (where maybe you encountered a pediatrician who works with the kids). It's a good way to be inspired, but not a good reason to commit to it.

You really should work with equine veterinarians and get LOR from them... AND also to see what being a real veterinarian is like. Cause equine rescue center =/= equine vet practice. You also need at least a couple hundred hours of veterinary (not animal) experience to be considered anyway.