Letter of Recommendations Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CHOPSTIX

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I wanted to know if a school asks for 3 letters of recommendation and does not specify where the letters should come from, do you automatically assume all three must be from science professors or is it 2 science professors and 1 podiatrist letter? Also, does a letter from Calc 2 professor count as a science letter? I'm new to Podiatry so any help is appreciated. Thank you so much.

Members don't see this ad.

each school is different. refer to their websites. i had one academic, two podiatrists, and two pharmacists write me a letter

I was wondering how this is done..

I am going to ask the DPM that I've been shadowing for a letter on Monday and I want to make sure I have everything figured out.

Do I just have my reccomenders write a letter on their own letterhead and submit it straight to the school? Or does it go to AACPM? Or does it go to me and I send it?

Thanks again.

Members don't see this ad :)
provide the LOR writer with a self addressed stamped envelope of the mailing address of the school.

http://www.aacpm.org/html/collegelinks/cl_schools.asp

use the above link to get addresses for schools. they are sent directly there and a file will be created for you. When I called the application service they said some schools do electronic, but it is easier on everybody to manually mail them, since there is not a giant amount of applicants

I had my LOR writers send the letters directly to each school. I told each of them to write it on their department's letterhead and sign over the seal. Don't send them to AACPM (they are just there to steal your application money and send the app to each school ;)).