SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Letters of recommendation

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by grad01, Sep 6, 2001.

1. grad01

grad01 Junior Member

Sep 5, 2001
    West Coast
    I graduated in Spring 2001 and am out of touch with Sci Professors.
    All the schools that I'm interested in ( U Penn, Tufts, Temple, U of Chapel Hill)all seem to require them. They seem to discourage those of us who've been out of shool for a couple of years.
    Any advice is appreciated
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. chocobo

chocobo Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Jun 3, 2000
    If you graduated Spring 2001, that's not too long ago. You can e-mail a sci prof whose class you've taken (& did well in) and ask whether they can write you a letter of rec.

None of my sci profs knew me, but I e-mailed them and scheduled an appointment to see them with my resume, transcripts, etc. I think I turned in my physics prof's letter of rec to most schools. I doubt his letter was personal (dont' know since I never read it) since he didn't know me. But none of the schools ever asked me about it, or any of the other letters for that matter. So not to worry, even if your sci prof letter is not so personal.
  4. al

al Member 7+ Year Member

Aug 30, 2001