Licensed pharmacist working as a pizza delivery driver

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Music_rx

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a licensed pharmacist in Texas. Seemingly my doctorate and license are just worthless pieces of paper and all those years invested in pharmacy school was a waste of my time because I still have no job. I applied everywhere in Texas, big city, small city, village, etc. No one is hiring. I keep calling the pharmacies everyday speaking with the managers asking to follow up on my applications. Apparently no one ever needs a pharmacist anymore. Honestly, I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
I can't really financially support myself anymore being unemployed this long so I got desperate for a job and Papa John's was hiring. Yesterday was my first day of work as a pizza delivery driver. Made a total of $42 in 7 hours of work. Basically I wasted the past 6 years of my life just to deliver pizza.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 9 users
Is marijuana legal over there? I see lots of pharmacist postings in dispensaries over here, so that's something you can pursue.

I've always heard there are a lot of jobs in rural Texas though I dont know from personal experience. So you averaged 6$/hr in this shift?

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I really don't understand how this is possible. You have to be doing something wrong. Your logic makes no sense. Why you even work as a pizza delivery driver before attempting to work as a pharmacy technician? (I am not saying you should be a technician because no pharmacist with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree should be doing anything less than what that degree is worth, but a smarter choice would have been to purse that route). There is something that's not right here.

Reactions: 5 users