Lifestyle of Doctors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

crystal02

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Of all the specialties, which are the most conducive to family life? By that I mean being a wife, mother, working fewer hours (40-60?) and less crazy hours? I've heard emergency medicine...true? Others?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm certainly not an expert opinion since I'm only a first-year student, but I can tell you that I have, so far, identified Dermatology, Urology, Opthalmology and Family Practice as fairly "family friendly". Unfortunately, the first three (I'm not sure about Urology) are EXTREMELY competitive residencies to land. They are competitive because they provide the most income for the least amount of work (relatively speaking, of course). I'm sure there are other specialties that would fit the bill...but I'm not that informed myself, yet! You can do a search on-line or even here on SDN to find out more info on specific residencies....because you have to land the residency to GET that specialty!

Members don't see this ad :)
Urology is extremely competitive. I'll add to the list of "family friendly" Radiology, Anesthesiology, some of the subspecialties of Internal Medicine (Allergy, Endocrinology, Rheum), and pediatrics isn't too bad. After residency there are many specialties that would allow you to work a 40-60 hour week (even surgery) you'll just have to give up some cash.

Psychiatry is nice. You can work from 8 am to 4pm and not do hospital work. If your patient needs to be in the hospital, the case temporarily gets assigned to an attending that does hospital work. You don't have to take crisis calls, you can refer patients to the ER. I have friends that do all of this. They don't take crisis calls at all, not even during work hours.