1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Little biology background

Discussion in 'Re-Applicants [ MD / DO ]' started by batgirl, Nov 18, 2005.

1. batgirl

batgirl Student

Non-Student
    Hi guys,
    I want to apply for medical school next year but my GPA is only 3.1 on 4.3...not good.And also,I'm an engineering graduate.I haven't done any biology at all.Is that a big problem?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. DrHuang

DrHuang SDN Donor
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    uhhh...you need a year of biology as a prereq for all med schools as well as a year in chemistry, o-chem and physics

edit: if you dont have those courses, go do a post bacc

4. batgirl

batgirl Student

Non-Student
  5. izibo

izibo Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Damn, I thought I could just throw in an app for med school, what is with all of these pre-reqs, MCATs, and other obstacles! Bah!

6. batgirl

batgirl Student

Non-Student
    I can already do the MCAT!

7. batgirl

batgirl Student

Non-Student
    I already have most of the pre-requisites.It was part of my curriculum in high school.

8. FrkyBgStok

10+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Resident [Any Field]
    high school pre-reqs will not cut it for med school. You need to take all of these at a college level. 2 semesters of biology with lab, 2 semesters of general chemistry with lab, 2 semesters of organic chemistry with lab, 2 semester of general physics with lab, and commonly 2 semesters of english. it will literally be IMPOSSIBLE for you to get in without these classes. plus the MCAT covers these five subjects, so without them you would suck on your MCATs. These absolutely MUST be college level.