LMFT IN THE PROCESS OF PSYD.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AnnieQue

Reaction score
I am a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) in California, I am also a Doctoral Student (Psyd) also wanting to get licensed as a Clinical Psychologist in California. I will be registering soon for my Psychology Assistant Registration because the organization I already work for will provide supervision for my pre-doctoral hours. When i called Cal- board or psychology, they informed me that I cannot accrue hours while still employed as an LMFT... Has anyone else been through this? I know there are some MFTs who went on and got licensed as psychologist, please if you are out there, or going through the same issues I would love to hear from you.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, you can't double dip as a unlicensed trainee and licensed provider. Particularly confusing and misleading to patients. Most graduate programs are explicit about this in their rules (check em if you haven't).

Not familiar with CA law about this though - but 99% sure its a hard no. In fact, a quick google search shows it clearly in the Supervision Agreement paperwork: "The supervisee will not function under any other license to accrue SPE. "

This also creates billing/insurance issues, which has been brought up on this board before if you search, and complicates ethical dilemmas, etc..

Drop or pause your LMFT license. Will you ever even need to use it again once licensed as a psych?

Reactions: 2 users
I know there are some MFTs who went on and got licensed as psychologist
There was a student with an LPC license who attended my PhD program. They completed the same supervised practicum experiences as the non-licensed students in the program and did not actively use their LPC license while enrolled.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)