LOR Question for Non-Traditional Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CanadianRN

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Just a quick quick question for all of you who have experience with medical school admissions. I posted a little bit about myself previously, so I will highlight only the context that relates to my question here. I have been a nurse for 10 years, have a graduate degree (MA in Education), and have a variety of work/research/life experiences (as expected from mature applicants). However, as medical school is not something I realized I wanted to pursue when I was younger, I did not take the pre-requisite science courses in regular my baccalaureate program. I have since completed almost all of the standard pre-requisite science courses through distance education with on-site labs (all will be completed shortly). Distance education was the best option for me as a mature student. However, the problem with distance education is that you do not even meet, let alone form any kind of a relationship with your science professors.