Loupe magnification for surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SaberToothTigre

Reaction score
What loupe mag do you recommend for oral surgery? I know almost old school surgeons don’t use loupes, but many newer ones wear some. I have 3.5s now, and am wanting to get another pair at student price before graduation. Would it be better to go up (4.5 prisms) or down (2.5 or 3x)? Does anyone out there use higher mag loupes for surgery, or is it crazy?

Members don't see this ad.

I really like the OraScoptic Zoom's that can adjust to 3,4,&5x.

Reactions: 1 user
I’m a PGY2 OMFS resident. Just a thought on this topic, I’ve never used loupes for any office-based procedure. Haven’t seen any other residents or attendings use them either. I’ve never found that magnification was helpful in anyway whatsoever when it comes to exodontia and other office-based procedures. I have found that a quality headlight makes a huge difference however. In my opinion, loupes are for finding MB2/calcified canals or refining precise crown prep margins. I just never found any benefit of magnification for surgical procedures because you’re not looking for tiny structures, but good lighting makes your life a lot easier.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Great posts by all above.

When I was in dental school in the mid-1980s, none of the dental students wore loops. I know quite a few dentists who went to dental school since 2000, and they all wore loops in dental school. Once you wear them, you get used to them.

I have said on the forums that oral surgery is the easiest part of dentistry. This is true. The most difficult part is general dentistry, where you are looking at a half a millimeter all day long. For this you need loops (perhaps). For oral surgery, you do not.