1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Low GPA. first year pre-med

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by CadetV, Dec 23, 2008.

1. CadetV

Pre-Medical
    This semester I acquired a 2.3 GPA because i received an F in Western Civ and a D in Calculus. The Western Civ grade was a fluke and will be corrected to an A within the next week but that still leaves the D in Calculus. If i do retake it, i will do it at the local community college. I would like to know if it would be worth it to retake this class. Because this is my first year of college and semester of college, I would like to know how bad my chances have been hurt of making it into med school.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. ksmi117

ksmi117 GEAUX TIGERS!!!
    Physician Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 7+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Resident [Any Field]
    While a D does nothing to help your application, it can be overcome. Definitely retake it and get an A. From here on out, you've got to get those A's though, to pull that GPA back up. But don't worry too much. It's only your first semester. If there's any semester to get a D in, it's the first. Med schools like to see upward trends for GPA's.

Best of luck!

4. RySerr21

RySerr21 i aint kinda hot Im sauna
    10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]