Low-ish GPA, graduated 5 years ago, what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

knioette

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I didn't find a recent thread that discusses the low GPA question, so I thought I'd ask again since average accepted GPAs change every year.

My question is in regard to applying for the upcoming 2015/2016 cycle.

I have a Cell, molecular and microbial biology degree from the University of Calgary (Canada), graduated in 2010.

I have a a 3.14 cGPA (including courses I took this year, outside of undergrad as pre-reqs). sGPA (no math or psyc) is 3.1. However if you look at the last 20 courses I had taken (including the English and A&P I took this year as pre-reqs), both my my cGPA and sGPA are 3.3. All classes I have taken this year (to fill pre-req gaps, as I never planned on becoming an Optometrist while I was an undergrad), I had gotten straight A's. I still need to finish another English class and Bioethics.

I have taken Calculus in Winter of 2006, linear algebra, intro to bio, chem and physics in fall of 2006, and bio, chem and physics pt2 in winter 2007.

I plan on taking the OAT sometime in August of this year, applications out by September first. I would like to apply to Waterloo, and any and all US schools where I might have a chance of getting accepted.

I have published a paper on the identification of a new bacterial genus. Since I graduated, I have been in charge of getting pre-market authorization to sell supplements from Health Canada, in addition to actually formulating those supplements, and my latest two positions at a supplement company were Head of research and regulatory department, and now I'm a Director.

My questions are:

1- Well, what are my chances?

2- What's a good OAT range for me?

3- What schools are likely to accept me?