LPC vs LCSW?

Discussion in 'Mental Health and Social Welfare' started by golightning, Feb 11, 2017.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. golightning

golightning

I know that's such a vague question, but I was wondering, maybe from some of you guys in either field, which would you consider the "better"? I am currently a psych undergrad and love learning about biology, sociology, and psychology. Heck, my first semester of college I had thought I wanted to be an engineer, which I learned quickly I hated, but if it honestly were not for sociology and psychology, I would've just thought college in general wasn't for me. I want to help people, but 3 and a half years in, with probably around 3 more to go, I want to make an acceptable amount of money that I could live with. Also, can an LCSW really diagnose mental disorders? I don't mean to sound like an idiot, but I honestly never knew that was part of their job duty until reading that from a little forum about it. Thanks everyone :)

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Salvador

Salvador 2+ Year Member

Other Health Professions Student
    Hey there,

I don't work in the field yet (Currently at USC for their MSW Program), but I have heard that the LCSW is much more flexible than then LPC. Do some more research and you will find this to be true.

4. golightning

golightning

I legitimately was on USC's website for their MSW program as you posted (that tuition scares me though lol), but I have been reading like crazy about it lately. I'm in N.C., but there are a ton more jobs on job boards for LCSW. I just honestly never saw Social Workers in this sense, otherwise I would've gotten a BSW so that I could fly through a MSW with advanced standing credentials. Thanks for the reply!

5. Salvador

Salvador 2+ Year Member

Other Health Professions Student