M3 Rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

valkener

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to find a good place to do an EM elective during 3rd year. Many places do not accept M3's, but only M4's (the majority, it seems). Any recommendations?

NJ/OH/PA or surrounding area would be great. Also, I'm a DO student so a place that matches a good amount of DO's is a must.

Thank you and Happy Holidays!

Members don't see this ad.

I ran into similar problems. Had a really difficult time finding an EM program that took M3's. Then it was even harder trying to find one of those that still had openings for feb. If you're lucky maybe your elective will be at the end of the year so you will have done all your M3 "core rotations" and be eligible to rotate at a program that takes M4's

I ended up having to do my elective in something else. Earliest I get to try out EM is next august, just in time to be late applying if I switch my mind.:thumbup:

(yes, that was a heavy dose of sarcasm)

Let me preface this by saying that I realize this won't answer your question.

EM makes more sense as a 4th year rotation. I don't think I would have had the same experience had I done it during 3rd year - I didn't know enough medicine, psych, OB, etc or any basic technical things like how to suture - mind you, I'm not saying I know a lot, but having a little knowledge makes an rotation a lot more fun.

Members don't see this ad :)
Go on the AOA opportunities and look under the "institution information" tab. It will tell you whether the program allows 3rd years to rotate or not. I would recommend that you choose a program that isn't going to be your no.1 choice, since you will probably not be a rockstar yet...