majors and options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aichan

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this network... My friend said I should check it out... I want to become a doctor and was wondering what majors you all have chosen? I am currently a BIO major but have heard from several people it is a good idea to change your major since med schools are looking for diversity and it will help keep your GPA up... I also wanted to see what you all thought about possibly getting your RN prior to med school to help pay for under grad schooling... I have heard that it is much harder to get into med school if you are already a nurse.

Please let me know your thoughts on this one, as I am just starting out and will really appreciate your feed back.

Thank you!

Aichan

Members don't see this ad.

I don't really see the point in getting your RN to pay for undergrad. You need an ADN or BSN degree to become a RN. At any rate, it's not good to apply to med school as a RN.

As far as your degree/major goes, pick whatever you like. It doesn't matter. Every premed and his brother is a crappy biology major.

Get a spanish degree. It will look good. Especially with the growing amount of Mexicans coming to the states.

Members don't see this ad :)
major in whatever makes you happy. that way, you'll do well, and you'll actually ENJOY your four years, probably the last 4 years you'd have to study what you want. so don't do everything based on what the med schools want, just study hard, do well, and don't forget to play every now and then. finding SDN is a good start, so long as you are not a pretentious....

i would advise against getting an RN, it makes the med schools look down upon that, leaving one medical profession to do another before you even had any experience in that field.

Thank you so much everyone for your good advice :)