maxillofacial surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VISHNU GAUTHAM

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
dear friends,,, i am a foreign grad recently completed my batchelors n dental surgery from dharwad india,,,m very much passionate for maxillofacia surgery.....my gpa is 3.2 is it goood enuf to apppling directly for residency(prettty bad i knw) ???elz do i need to do dds first.... ultimately at the end i wanted to do maxillofacial which s my dream....,,, another q????,,. can i directly apply for universities aft gvng nbde part1 nd 2 thru b1(visiting) visa??? or shud i do mph r mha or cell biology to increase my gpa 1st and den appply for dds.... heard that the fees for 3yrs s willl be more than 350k....is it worth spending tht muchr ,,, hw many yrs it willl take to re pay tht loan ,,, r elz its better to do maxillofacial n india cracking indian exams which s 3yrs+2yrs fellowship,,, friends plz help me thru ..... any one dng subspeciality gng thru dis post plz help me by droppping me ur no so dat i can contact u....
thanku friends

Members don't see this ad.

Hey buddy,

A BDS does not allow you to practice in the states. You will have to join an advanced standing program before even being considered for an OMFS residency ( BU and other schools have one) Advanced standing takes about 2-3 years alone. Then for OMFS, you will most likely have to take the NBME - score high marks and apply for several programs across the country (very competitive). OMFS programs take 4-6 years depending on the degree granted ( certificate or MD). Hopefully a seasoned dentist or dental student will chime in for you. I am just regirgitating things I've heard on this site. GL

Hey buddy,