MBA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredoc1297

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I’m unsure if this the best place to post, so excuse if it isn’t (and please point me to the right place). But Im currently a medical student who recently enrolled in an MBA program with my school. The program adds no time to the duration of studies, but does come with a $40,000 price tag over the next three years. I’m definitely interested in private practice, hospital administration, etc. My question is, is the benefit of MBA (in terms of added opportunities) greater than the cost of the program? For context, I am choosing to move back home and commute to school for second year, and I can do the same for third and fourth years as well. This would allow me to keep my financial aid as is (no increase in loans - simply reallocating from rent/living expenses to the cost of the second degree each year). In theory, I could not alter my financial aid and loan situation and not add any significant increase if I live frugally and move back home while simultaneously getting my MBA. What are your thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

I did it, I think it will be valuable for hospital administration purposes or private practice. I feel like many people on SDN feel it may not be worth it (I posted something similar before I started the MBA program) But, the degree was pretty easy and I actually learned some stuff that I feel like people should learn like, in high school. I still know nothing about taxes though lol.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi All,