MCAT score decrease!!! (31 to 30), 3.61 cGPA, 3.74 sGPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

superq460

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I am looking for some feedback on what I should do. I have already started applying this cycle, and I was planning on adding more schools upon getting my MCAT scores.

Well I got them back today and got a 30...10/10/10 for PS/VR/BS. Last summer I got a 31 (14/8/9). I retook the exam because I was averaging 33-34 on AAMC exams, and I really underperformed on BS. So I studied again this summer, admittedly focusing more on improving VR and ended up getting that 10/10/10...Really have no idea where the 10 in PS came from because I never got lower than a 12 on the AAMC practices (honestly thinking about a re-score, although I am skeptical that it will change anything).

I have a cGPA of 3.61, sGPA of 3.73...I went to a top 25 undergraduate institution. Biochemistry major, math minor.

Extra-curricular wise, I have 1000+ of hours working as an EMT from high school to sophomore year in college. I have done research at Columbia for two summers and done some on-campus research but no honors thesis (change my major to biochemistry middle of my junior year and these invitations were closed by then). I volunteered as a peer-advisor on campus, tutored college and high school students, was fairly involved in club sports, and am currently doing a research fellowship at the NIH for my gap year. Shortcomings of my EC's are no shadowing, and no leadership. I have relatives who are doctors though so I know what it's like.