RBS21

15+ Year Member
Jun 28, 2002
Virginia
Visit site
Status (Visible)
I just wanted to see if anyone had any advice for me. I am applying to med school over the summer but there is one thing that is holding me back: the MCATs. On the april test I obtained a score of 6v, 7p, 8b, Nw. My GPA is at a 3.46 and it has been improving every semester. I have a lot of volunteer experience and this summer I have an internship type program at a Hospital in DC. Through this program I will become a certified ERT and get comfortable with the medical field. This past week I have watched many surgeries in the Operating room. before taking the MCATS, I studied around 6 to 7 hours a day in addition to the kaplan classes and practice tests. None of my work paid off and now I will be studying just as hard for the august MCAT. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can lift up my MCAT score??
Thanks

Doc AdamK in 2006

Now 2 year UB Med Doc
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 23, 2002
Defintely Buffalo
Visit site
Status (Visible)
There are a lot of great tips on the MCAT Forum.

Did you take a review class. They are expensive but worth it. Read everyday, newspaper anything that can get you used to reading different styles of writing. Everything from Poetry to non-fiction

Review courses should help with the Science because they will give you plenty of practice problems

AK

About the Ads

njdesi

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 14, 2002
New Jersey
Visit site
Status (Visible)
I took Kaplan for the April '02 MCAT and boy did I overwork myself. I spent 6-7 hours a day there.
Did it pay off? I went up 8 points from my diagnostic to the real thing in April. Am I happy? No way. I am retaking in August, but this time I am using all the EXAMKRACKERS books and AAMC tests 5 and 6 to practice. That is all I can do. Just 7 more weeks to go. Good luck!!!!I would suggest EXAMKRACKERS!!!

tatabox80

Super-Duper Member
15+ Year Member
May 24, 2002
Ohio
Visit site
Status (Visible)