McMaster University (I'm Confused< Please Help)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChicagoCK

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm really confused. So I have been thinking about applying to McMaster and I was told that you don't have to take the MCAT or have a science background. Is this true? I have no science background and I was planning on going to Post-Baccalaureate premed in the states. I just don't understand how it could be physically/mentally possible to learn Chemistry, Physics, Bio, etc. WHILE in med school? Can someone please enlighten me as soon as possible.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure exactly what the deal is a Mac, but I am an american in my third year at Memorial University of Newfoundland. They also do not require pre-medical sciences prior to entering the Medical School. Its certainly a little tougher during first year if you don't have the background sciences, but only a little. Truth is orgo, general chem, and physics are basically of no utility in the first couple years. Doing a bit of bio helps with physiology, biochem, and anatomy...but the other stuff - just a hoop you need to jump through in my opinion.

A couple of my classmates came in with little to no of the normal pre-reqs and they are excelling. Anyway, hope this helps...Oh and not sure if you know, but Mac is a 3 year program! (ie no summers off)