MD vs MD/PhD, are you really smarter?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
B

BlackPuma

ok ok, these past couple of years as an undergrad, I was always under the impression that MD/PhDs were very gifted, smarted etc etc versus their medical student counterparts..

ok let me say this, I personally loved researched, and the past 3 years have like worked in 4 labs, tons of publications and awards (sorry dont mean to brag, but I'm trying to make a point)...

anyway, I had everything it took to go into an MD/PhD and virtually every interview I went to, pple asked me why I didnt chose such an option....I personally didnt want to commit 7 years of my life, and I also thought really deep down, that I wasnt super smart or genius like einstein to go into the program....

I know MD/PhD have better stats than the rest of us, but are they trule SMARTER than MDs, cuz I know so many pple going to MDs and THEIR REALLY BRIGHT, TALENTED AND HAVE ALSO DONE tons of research...

and the biggest reason I didnt apply to an MD/PhD program was because I spoke to medical students from a lot of medical schools and even md/phd and they all said that pple who chose that track really regretted.....which seems to be really the case with a lot of these pple...they just burn out...

so that makes me wonder, are they really that smarter than MDs? or is it, rather that a lot of pple don't apply to these programs, and in some schools ur chances are even better? :clap:

Members don't see this ad.

The MD/PHD people I have met have been amazing smart people. I don't know if they are smarter but they are at least at the same level. It is harder to get MD/PHD then other stuff.