Mechanical engineer applying to Caribbean

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mikekijiji

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a Mechanical Engineer graduate from Canada, I have a 3.3 GPA and I write my MCATs January of 2015, Also doing the premed courses this coming September (biology, physics, and chem). I do not have any volunteer experience. I am wondering about if you can give me any advice towards caribbean schools . I was in contact with AUC, and they seem helpful. I have been reading that Caribbean schools as of lately are not what they used to be and I should stay away.
If you have any pointers that would be great. Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

My pointer on Caribbean schools? Don't apply to any of them, especially since you have yet to even make an attempt to get into a Canadian or American MD/DO school. Second, start getting some volunteer experience (including clinical experience if you don't have any yet). Third, make sure you are serious about doing well in school before you step foot back in the classroom; your goal is to make all As in your prereqs (or as close to it as possible). Given your prior academic record, taking all three prereqs you listed with all three labs in one semester while studying for the MCAT is almost certainly not a very wise decision.

Reactions: 1 users
Well I've done a lot of physics. This is just introductory. So basically it will be chem, organic chem, and biology. Also those are courses covered in MCATs so they would compliment each other. With Engineering I had 6 or 7 classes/semester so that won't be as bad. My biggest question still. Is why Caribbean is a no go. Everyone says do not go there, but my question is why. There are a lot of ppl matching from there.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank You, I am wondering which DO schools would be recommended.

Apply to US DO schools that accept international applicants.