Med School Help NEEDED!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skotdaskater

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm new to SDN so I hope I'm posting in the right place! My name is Scott and I live in Mississauga, ON. I took medical radiation technology as a 3 year college program and graduated December of last year. Even before starting the program I knew I wanted to be more in life, like one had a purpose but didn't know for what or why yet.
After finishing my program in December I went for my annual gastroacopy and received news early January that they had found cancer. I was told I could either wait and see if the cancer grew or got worse, or go the safe route and have a total gastrectomy. I didn't want to risk my life waiting on something to progress that I already knew was inside me so I went ahead with the surgery early March. It's been just over 6 months and I feel terrific and more motivated than ever. I feel so motivated and great because I finally know that I want to go to med school and become something great - a general surgeon.
The care I received in the hospitals care was terrific and I finally got to see things as a patient instead of an employee. I had an amazing surgeon at Mt Sinai hospital and i just admire her so much. I had a lot of time to reflect in the hospital and over the first two months recovering and I just know in my heart I need to go to med school.
NOW, here is my question/concern; I want to go to either St. George's or Saba School of Medicine in the Caribbean because they are the top one's there. But I know I want to come back to Canada to do my residency and to work permanently eventually. Are my chances slim to none or decent with hard work and great test scores throughout school? How many people do end up getting a chance to come back to Canada for Residency? Is there an even smaller chance since I'm passionate about general surgery?