Med School to PA school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SmithRock

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medical student nearing the end of taking a year off after MS1 and am evaluating whether I am going to return to med school or switch and start the process to attend PA school. I was wondering if anyone on here has actually made the switch from the MD track to the PA track and what your perspective is regarding your decision.

Medicine is an interest of mine but is not the defining thing in my life. I would like to work in sports medicine (non-surgical) but don't really care a ton about autonomy and the thought of having to take call doesn't attract me at all. The thought of 6 or 7 more years of med school/residency busyness, stress and not much free time is not particularly appealing. However the "easier" route would be to stay in med school since I'm already in and applying to PA school would take more time and a few extra prereqs. Any pertinent informed thoughts? I would especially like to hear from people who actually switched from MD to PA. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.