Medical Emergency on an Airplane

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kobebucsfan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
so I was on a plane last week and someone in the front row needed medical help. The flight was already in the air and the flight attendant made an announcement saying "Is there anyone on board that is a doctor,nurse or a vet, we need medical help"

that got me thinking, if i was a dentist, should i volunteer to help ?

this might be dumb question but whatever

Members don't see this ad.

i actually asked this exact question to the dentist i was shadowing. There were 2 dentists working in that practice. One said he would be legally obligated to respond if there was not a physician or someone else more qualified to respond. The other dentist said she wouldn't respond. So my answer is : I dont know, but I would prob do what the first dentist recommended.

If you have active CPR/AED certification, you should at least attempt to help. In most states, there is a Good Samaritan law that will protect you in case something bad happens to the person, but you should chime in. Or live with guilty conscience knowing that you witnessed someone die in front of you, if you have a conscience that is.

Members don't see this ad :)
I can imagine my self saying "I can help i am a dentist" and then people on board look at me like... "dentist are not doctors" and to not say f... all i would remain seated and evade hearing the ignorance of people! there is so much a doctor can do regardless at 20,000 feet

I can imagine my self saying "I can help i am a dentist" and then people on board look at me like... "dentist are not doctors" and to not say f... all i would remain seated and evade hearing the ignorance of people! there is so much a doctor can do regardless at 20,000 feet