Medical jobs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ris11

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am currently an undergrad freshmen and am planning to pursue being a scribe and MA in my undergrad. Do you think this is possible and feasible?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, it's definitely feasible. Many pre-med students will work a part-time job throughout undergrad and I even know some of my medical classmates still pick up some shifts occasionally. However, the most important thing is that your grades are always the top priority and do not fall at all because of working. That said, scribing is the more traditional route but the best clinical experience for undergrads (without other qualifications) is working as a patient care assistant/unit technician fulfilling the role of an in-patient nursing assistant.

Reactions: 1 users
Hi guys,

I am currently an undergrad freshmen and am planning to pursue being a scribe and MA in my undergrad. Do you think this is possible and feasible?
I think you should focus on one or the other. MA and NA positions offer more in patient focused experiences, which could be more beneficial than a scribe position. I think the biggest piece of advice is to not start off with a high FTE. You can always pick up shifts if you have time, but don't over extend yourself for a job.

Don't do both. MA has more direct patient contact plus you get to see the humanity of taking care of frail, sick patients. Assisting in patient moves, hygiene, comfort etc.. Pick one as they will be time consuming and you need to earn a good gpa.

Depends on your school. At my UG, it would’ve been difficult to get grades on the right side of the curve while also working a significant number of hours.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi guys,