Medical School Admissions: Special Circumstances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings. I am a practicing physician and medical school faculty at a private, research-oriented medical school in the US. I have 10 years of service on the medical school admissions committee and considerable experience at evaluating applications for a range of academic positions at all levels.

Update: May 9, 2007: As I have two other threads I am actively "leading", and there are other mentors for this thread, I will not continue to actively follow and respond here although I may do so on occasion. You can find me on the academic medicine thread.

Members don't see this ad.

1. Do i need to retake One year of Physics, chemistry and Mathematics in addition to O-Chem and Biology for fulfilling my pre-reqs ? - Back in India for my bachelors in Mechanical Engineering, we just had 1 semester of Basic Chemistry and Physics ,which was quite involved.Now, comparing the syllabus of 2 semester Physics and Chemstry pre-req courses at my local Community college to the Physics i had covered back in India im pretty sure that Physics and Chemistry topics were covered in my high school syllabus itself and Phy & Chem at my college was beyond the scope of the syllabus of Pre-req courses listed by local CC. Also, during my Masters at UC most of the courses did have Pretty high level physics and Chemistry listed as their pre-reqs and i was able to achieve pretty decent grades mostly A's and few B's.The reason i ask this question is that i would rather prefer spending time learning something new and better than what i have studied throughout my previous education.

Most (all?) medical schools are going to want to see the pre-reqs taken at a US or Canadian school. Sorry you are faced with a do-over.