Medical School Application (So far) - WAMC MD & DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RK2021

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I've had an sdn account for awhile now but never posted a thread to ask others for their opinions before. I've read through many posts from other hopefuls about their stats and applications and I wanted to try and get some opinions on my own. This will be a bit long so I'm sorry in advance but I want to give you guys everything from how many credits I took each semester to my trend in GPA.

I am applying for the 2022-2023 cycle which is May 2022 and I just graduated from UMass Lowell with a degree in biology/pre-med track (also graduated with honors). I am a Massachusetts resident (born and raised). I haven't taken the MCAT yet as my test date is September 2nd of this year but I'd like to provide my current stats to see where I am at. Before applying in May 2022, I am doing a year post-bacc and as of now my post-bacc cGPA/sGPA (all courses that I am taking in my post-bacc are science courses) is a 4.0. I'd also like to be straight forward in my application and for you all to give me your honest opinions. My GPA is not as high as I would like it to be due to my beginning years of undergrad and having personal and rough problems that we all have. I am not afraid to give you guys my GPA trend year by year and would like to see if you guys think my GPA trend is good enough as an upward trend (AMCAS and AACOMAS).

AMCAS (MD)
Freshman Year: 1.24 cGPA, 1.06 sGPA - (Fall Term: 15 credits, Spring Term: 14 credits)
Sophomore Year: 2.45 cGPA, 2.36 sGPA - (Fall Term: 10 credits, Spring Term: 20 credits)
Junior Year: 3.38 cGPA, 2.87 sGPA - (Fall Term: 19 credits, Spring Term: 20 credits, Summer Term: 22 credits)
Senior Year: 3.81 cGPA, 3.80 sGPA - (Fall Term: 15 credits, Winter Term: 6 credits, Spring Term: 27 credits)
Post-bacc: 4.0 cGPA, 4.0 sGPA (53 credits)