Medical Schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sinister

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Do you guys feel that the medical schools you are attending are preparing you well for the boards? I go to TCMC in Scranton PA, and sometimes I feel as if they teach us everything except for what is board relevant like things that would be good for a primary care physician. Our school does have a mission to increase more primary care doctors in the region so I guess having students barely pass the boards is the best way to insure that. Just wanted to know how things are at in other medical schools.

Members don't see this ad.

Did my school prepare me? Hell to the NO. I am attending a school in the UK with a PBL style curriculum. Can't get any worse than that when it comes to boards prep.
Now I'm studying at night with school in the day (clinical years so I come home tired), hoping that I can pull of some kind of miracle.
I think I will be okay for step II because thats the kind of teaching we get here.. more clinically oriented. My basic sciences is shocking. :(

PCOM's OMM department over-prepares us for the OMM portion on COMLEX. The department exams are wild yet at the same time, the basic OMM concepts are hammered into us because of their tough exams.

Other than that, they do a mediocre job at preparing for boards. The dean has told us that their purpose isn't to prepare us for the boards, but to prepare us for the clinical years. And they do a great job at that, no doubt. But sometimes clinicians emphasize too much of the "clinical" aspect which forces us to spend less time learning the basic science concepts.

At the end of the day, if you took the time to understand the basics the first time around, studying for boards won't be too bad because most of it you will have seen before.