MD & DO Meeting with Dean for unprofessionalism concerns

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Protolytic

Reaction score
Hello, I am an M2 student in an MD school. I had a really tough year. Something traumatic happened a couple of months ago, and various personal issues put a strain on my mental health. I always had some baseline depression but it got worse than ever and as a result, I have been slipping in school performance. I had missed the deadline for three assignments without being able to email my instructors ahead of time. Per our school policy, this files under "unprofessionalism" and would get the Dean notified and trigger a meeting with the Student Promotions Committee, which might decide to discipline me and have something go on my record for residency apps.

I am scheduled to meet with the Dean tomorrow I am absolutely terrified that I had ruined my medical career. I am not sure if I should be upfront and honest with them about what has been going on, or if bringing up mental health would add further damage. Would appreciate any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

• Care
Reactions: 1 users
I had missed the deadline for three assignments without being able to email my instructors ahead of time.
I'm sorry you're struggling.

One note, I would avoid this phrasing in your meeting tomorrow--an email takes 2 minutes to write. So either you chose not to take the time to email your professors, or you are so incapacitated by mental health issues that you are unable to perform basic tasks that are required of being a medical student. If the latter is true, and this would certainly be understandable in the wake of something traumatic, you should strongly consider taking a LOA and come back stronger. Maybe you could bootstrap your way through this, but the cost of being wrong is really severe.

Reactions: 7 users