DrRedhead

7+ Year Member
Aug 29, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
I've been a lurker on the forums for awhile--drinking in your wise and varied advice on several subjects. And I was in the middle of typing an email that could very quickly paint me as a crazy to the pre-health advisor, when I thought, why not seek the advice of the other crazies? (Just kidding.)

So I'm going to vomit out all that is swirling around in my little head, and if you can let the advice spill forth, I'd be grateful.

I am a non-trad student who headed back to school right before the economy took a severe nose-dive. I started back at community college and transferred to our local four-year instiution. I am currently in the middle of my first semester there, as a second semester sophmore. The pre-health (as well as pre-vet/pre-dental/pre-everything) advisor knows that I lost several years to the workforce and is trying to help me get to med school as quickly as possible. That said, I know I'm catching up/cramming in more in order to be able to start applying next summer, especially where EC's and research is concerned.

Because of this, I'm trying to wisely use my time to get the best time spent/application impact as possible, if that makes sense. However, whenever I ask the advisor to sort of guide me in what I should/shouldn't be doing, she's all "Oh! As long as you have a good gpa and MCAT, the rest doesn't matter!" Which, as I've read on here, isn't true. Furthermore, I'm taking o-chem, physics and cell-bio this fall, then o-chem, physics and genetics in the spring--then take the MCAT in June.

All that being said, to give you the background, here are my questions.

1. Should I try to get more classes in than those? Or, just focus on understanding the material since those classes are largely what the MCAT is about--and just spend that extra time doing MCAT study?