Metatarsals and hammertoes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jehjr

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
What are people's thoughts on metatarsal osteotomies for severely contracted hammertoes on long metatarsals? Weil? Oblique sagittal? Met head resection?

I trained with people who had strong opinions all across the board. I like the idea of maintaining anatomy as much as possible, but the met head resections I see seem to do just as well.

As a resident I thought I had all the answers. Now I feel like I have more questions than ever.

Members don't see this ad.

TMA

Reactions: 1 user
I'd just fuse the hammertoes and release the MPJ. A weil then if there is a central core to the forefoot calluses. I do them this way:

https://www.researchgate.net/public...-of-modified-Weil-osteotomy-in-metatarsal.png

I don't think you are going to go wrong either way honestly. I wasn't aware of any controversial opinions regarding any of these? Is there some staunch toe guru who remains unimpressed at the current bleeding edge hammertoe concepts?

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, I would do a Weil for most of these. I am meaning cases where the proximal phalanx is hanging out on top of the metatarsal neck and the met is extra long. Maintain the joint at all costs? Or just ressect the head and be done with it?

Edit: I’m being vague. I have a 40 year old female with crazy long second and third Mets. Rigid dorsally dislocated hammertoes. I could do weils, but I would probably have to pull out a wedge to shorten enough, plus there would require more dissection to reduce it enough to do the Weil. So, is it crazy to do a met head resection in a younger patient?

Last edited:
Yes, I would do a Weil for most of these. I am meaning cases where the proximal phalanx is hanging out on top of the metatarsal neck and the met is extra long. Maintain the joint at all costs? Or just ressect the head and be done with it?