microbiology & anatomy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premed student

Go Bears!
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm a non-traditional student who was a non-science major in undergrad (UCBerkeley) and took all the premed req's at Cal State Fullerton. I already applied for the class of 2010 and waiting for interviews. Right now, I'm taking Genetics at a community college and working to pay bills. I was wondering if I should take Microbiology and Anatomy next semester before I start medschool or if I should just take it easy and enjoy my time before the school. Those two courses are offered in medschool and I heard that some med schools don't even recommend taking anatomy ahead.

Any advice would be appreciated!
Thank you! : )

Members don't see this ad.

I would take the classes. Since you're a non-science major, it may be helpful and you won't feel so overwhelmed.

I would go on the sdn site and ask a student currently enrolled at the school you are going to what they would do. I have heard anatomy and biochem are the two biggies the first year.I am doing biochem (undergrad semester 1+2) so that I will be in good shape next year.My undergrad was in medical technology so micro was covered. I am twenty years after my undergrad degree and think the bugs have changed only a little.

Members don't see this ad :)
premed student said:
Hi guys,