Military Medicine - Its what you make of it - My journey

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Re3iRtH

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was only 21 years old when I graduated college and signed on the dotted line for USUHS to put the military in charge for presumably the best years of my life.

I was scared and nervous during OBC. I got yelled at a lot. I read the (most negative and cynical) comments on this board about military medicine and how its a failing system. Medical school was pretty uneventful. The best part of medical school was to travel all around the US for the last 2 years. Very little responsibility other than show up to work, learn some medicine, and take a shelf exam.

I was able to match into my dream specialty (Diagnostic Radiology). I honestly think this specialty would be quite a long shot if I were applying as a civilian.

Then started the most euphoric, impactful, and relaxing 5 years of my live as a radiology resident in Hawaii. I bought my first property (which later became a rental). I didn't save nor invest a lot of money. My net worth didn't hit 5 figures until I was in my PGY-3 year. More rentals and passive investments, and a quick 4 years later I became financially free. A lot of it was luck, but a lot of it was lots of reading, podcasts, and just being a thankful and positive person.

My first setback came when I got one of my last choices as a staff assignment - remote and desolate area, not great for a single guy. What this allowed me to do was, to take a break from the surfing, dating, partying of Hawaii and truly reflect on my life, goals, and where I wanted to be. I started actually paying attention to where my money was going (although I never budgeted and will never budget to this day).