gdh

10+ Year Member
Jul 30, 2006
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi Everybody! I just discovered this forum this week, and I'm finding it to be a great reference.

Several years ago as an undergrad I decided I wanted to do medicine, and started taking the prereqs. Unfortunately, due to scheduling issues I ran out of money before I ran out of classes, and went off to get a real job for a while.

6 years later I've decided to finish what I started...

What I have:

English I&II
Chemistry I&II
Physics I&II
Biochem I
Organic Chem I
1/2 Biology I&II (school changed its 1st year biol program on me part way through.. they used to have an any-2-of-3-courses program for 1st year...)
Calculus I&II + statistics
GPA of 3.5+

So I need to do something about my Biology and Organic Chemistry. Also, the only local medschool (UBC) has a draconian requirement for a 6-credit course in 3rd year biochem.

That leaves me with 3 questions:

(1) Given that I did 90% of my prereqs during my undergrad, would it hurt my application seriously if I did the last 3 credits of biology and organic chem through a distance program at a school like Athabasca (www.athabasca.edu)?

(2) Should I retake all of 1st year biology (since my current credit is hard to explain), or just tack on another 1/2 a year?

(3) Is it worth taking 8 months off from my job just so I can finish the Bioc 300 req? Or will I not damage my chances too much by simply writing the local school off my list of places to apply?

I'd love to hear any thoughts you have.

Law2Doc

5K+ Member
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Dec 20, 2004
Status
Attending Physician
gdh said:
Hi Everybody! I just discovered this forum this week, and I'm finding it to be a great reference.

Several years ago as an undergrad I decided I wanted to do medicine, and started taking the prereqs. Unfortunately, due to scheduling issues I ran out of money before I ran out of classes, and went off to get a real job for a while.