My questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SBMD

Pre-med Dreamer
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone! This is my first time posting questions here. I am going into my 2nd year and doing a biochem specialization program as a pre-med student. I have some questions I hope some (a lot will be awesome) of you’ll respond to with your broader experience, knowledge and opinions. I am quite a novice. So here go the questions:

1) This is probably a question with a obvious answer but I’m gonna ask anyway. Through your 3-4 years of undergrad degree as a pre-med student, have you changed a lot with increased maturity, well-roundedness and such? To be more specific, how have you changed and which of those things contributed/will contribute to your success in medicine?

2) How do you think the Adcoms will look at someone who’s kinda shy or quiet (or both) ? Do quiet/shy people have a chance of getting into med school at all if they are really nice, compassionate, thoughtful, mature, smart and so on but they’re not outgoing, quieter than general people and are not so much fun to be with? (I wonder how many people like this there are out there though…hmm)

3) How much ECs is considered to be too little? Can you give some examples or something? Compared to MCAT scores and GPA, how important are ECs? In case I’m doing some curricular activities during the school year but then I don’t do in school as well as I did before and I quit to give more time to my studies, I will continue doing ECs in the summer. But I would feel bad that all I do is study if ECs is more important than I thought and ECs over the summer only wouldn’t seem enough then?

Anyway, I hope to get some great and encouraging ideas/suggestion from you guys and hope the answers will be helpful information to not only me but also other pre-med students. THANKS IN ADVANCE!!

Members don't see this ad.

SBMD said: