my story

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iamnotconfused

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have read a couple of posts on "what are my chances" but my story is a bit different. I graduated in 1994 with a BSc in Biochemistry (GPA 2.75). I am currently a nursing student with 4.0 GPA (may come down to 3.8 by the end of this semester if I make a B in my clinical course). I will graduate in Dec.

I seriously want to go to Med school (DO considering my stats). I decided to do a one year LPN as a means to an end. I already got admission to a Caribbean Med school but problem is, I am married with three little boys aged 7, 5 and 2. I would rather study here in the US and be with them than leave them to go to the Caribbean for 2 years.
My dilemma:
1. I am 36 years old (female)
2. My Physics, chem Bio are too old
3. No MCAT
4. Don't what route to follow

Should I do a post-bac to enhance my GPA and then take MCAT and apply to Med school? I am 36 already.

Should I retake Physics, chem, bio and then take MCAT and apply to DO schools?

Should I just take MCAT and apply to DO schools with my stats?

How do I even begin to study for MCAT? Its been over ten years since I took my science classes.

I am sorry my post is too long. If you read up to this point, thank you. I will greatly appreciate your comments, suggestions and advice.

Thanks
iamnotconfused

Members don't see this ad.

Your story isn't really different from the vast majority of nontrads so don't worry about that. Try the non-trad forum to read about loads of other people in similar situations.

It sounds like you working on an LPN (?) degree. If so, your courses will count as part of your undergrad GPA so you might just be fine there.

Your age will not be a huge problem. There are lots of 30+ medical students. You will most likely have a better chance and feel more comfortable with DO. Again, surf around the nontrad forum.