My work in progress

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ElliottB

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I thought I would post a thread here as a motivation for myself as well as to get some input on my path. Within the next year I will be applying to a handful of osteopathic schools because I am genuinely interested in the field (not because of the fortunate coincidence I have a better chance of acceptance :D ).

I graduated from the Univ of North Carolina in May 2008 with a B.S. in Biotech and Biochem, finished with a meager 3.0 GPA, but lots of extracurriculars. I decided about half way through my last year that I wanted to pursue a career in medicine. So I got EMT/CNA certified while working at a clinical path lab for a year. I then began working at the University of Colorado Hospital doing prostate cancer research, working with patients and doing lots of bench work. I'm also volunteering at a local hospice facility every week and have volunteered at various health fair around the state implementing my phlebotomy skills. I am currently taking some graduate classes at the University (work pays for it) in cancer biology to hopefully show some improvement from my undergrad GPA. The MCAT is scheduled for June and I've been studying my butt off for it.

I really hope all of this effort will not be fruitless. My GPA is going to hurt me more than anything but I feel that true passion and determination is really the backbone to overcoming these kinds of obstacles. Any input you guys/gals could give me would be much appreciated.

For what it's worth, I'm considering applying to RVSOM, WVSOM, VCOM, as well as a few others.

Members don't see this ad.