Navy HPSP/HSCP or Army HPSP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chillBob

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am looking for opinions from people who are in/completed these programs.

I am currently a Naval Officer and will have ~7yrs in service when I start medical school fall 2014 (assuming I get in). Due to the fact I am already Navy, I would prefer to stay Navy; however, I think both army and navy have different perks/flaws in their respected medical corps. I believe the HSCP looks like the best deal for me. If there are any priors out there who chose HSCP or HPSP over the other one, I would like to hear your opinion why.

First question: In my uneducated eyes the army looks like the easiest branch to land a residency in an area that you actually want to practice medicine based on the sure number of residencies. I comprehend that there are more army physicians, which is the main reason why they have more residencies. Is this assumption incorrect? Likewise, if any person feels they can give a honest opinion on which branch they thinks cultivates a physician’s medical skills vice administrative, I would be interested in hearing their opinion.

Second question: Will a contingent resignation from the navy allow me to accept an army HPSP scholarship? I am deciding if I should do an unqualified or contingent resignation? (Hopefully someone on SDN dealt with this before and knows the answer)

Third question: Can HSCP personnel do military clerkships during their summer breaks? I know this is standard practice for people doing HPSP.

Fourth question: If I do HSCP, will I have to do ODS? I only ask, since technically they make you enlisted for your schooling period (E7), and then you get re-commissioned (I know ODS is a joke compared to OCS, so it doesn’t really bother me either way). If I choose the army HPSP will I end up going to BOLC or a blue to green officer program?