Need a mentor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiring2b

Pre-Med
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre med student. My dream has always been to become a doctor. I have always wanted to be an ob/gyn. Granted right out of high school, I didn't take college very seriously:( Then I got married, had three kids, went into the restaurant management life for almost 15 years. I still managed to take a class here and there, receiving bad grades due to no time to study. I then gave up on my dream. Now after 15 years, I decided I am not happy with my career choice and want to go after my dream:) So I start back to my pre req's and kind of starting over. Which sucks. But I know I can do it, if I put my mind to it. I am just stuck with what to major in. I love chemistry and I love biology. Any advice? Thanks to all

Members don't see this ad.

Be realistic: If things go poorly with your early pre-med classes, re-evaluate whether you have a decent shot at getting accepted before you get in deeper.

Hedge your bet, at least at first: Keep your options open. If you are working, consider working part-time until you have a few of the big pre-reqs completed.

Know what you are getting into: Talk to med students, residents, and practicing docs in different areas (not just OB/Gyn). Ask them for the positives and negatives. Shadow folks in a variety of medical roles; perhaps you will find PA or some other option more attractive. Volunteer in a medical setting. Read articles about MDs' appraisals of the field, such as this depressing nugget in the NY Times: link. There's a lot of unhappy MDs out there. Consider what it would mean to you and your family if you are one of them after such a long training process.