NEED advice but more importantly NEED critics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

younghopefull

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a freshman at North Dakota. Threw out high school I did just enough to get by and still got decent grades but never fully put in the effort I could have. I always thought about how cool it would be if i could become a dentist but always told myself there was no way I could do it and wasn't smart enough.

So when i got to college I figured I could just "get by" like i did in high school and just major in business or education or something and didn't get very good grades at all. I recently had something happen to me in my life that made me realize that I need to stop selling myself short of what I can really achieve and do better in school and its been showing.

I now want to pursue my first goal of becoming a dentist, but I'm scared me getting bad grades my first year will keep me from getting into school I have failed 3 classes but this semester doing much much better, and I only took 12 credits last semester and 13 this semester.

I just was put on adhd medication and it seems to be helping. If you could please give me some advice that would be great but I really want people to give me my realistic chances of getting into dental school. I can take the worst news.

Greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Retake classes you failed, study harder from here on out, it's almost that simple. Although some on here are close to geniuses, a lot of us just work hard to get decent grades, then comes DAT etc. which is another opportunity. Lots of units left as a freshmen so it's definitely not the end of the world, and myself as a senior am just realizing how long this process is. good luck!