Need Advice on Chances for Allopathic US Schools this Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SandMann

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, if possible, I need some constructive advice if anyone would be so kind. I'm a 28-year-old non-traditional student (had changed careers from high school teacher to medicine). My science and overall GPAs are both 3.7's and I have solid activities and letters of recommendation. Unfortunately, I took the MCAT for the first time recently and scored pretty low on it: 26Q (6VR, 9 BS, and 11 PS). I have a terrible feeling that the 6 VR is really going to destroy my application for lots of medical schools. Believe it or not, I had been scoring consistently around 10's on all the sections in past practice exams. I know I can do better.

Unfortunately, I took the MCAT so late that it was impossible for me to re-take in September and I had also already submitted AMCAS primary and some of the secondaries to 17 schools. So given the circumstance, I'm just applying now. Realistically, how impossible are my chances? Am I pretty much screwed for this application cycle? I'm praying for a miracle but I doubt there will be any since there are so many qualified applicants.

Thanks everyone. It absolutely doesn't feel great spending all that money to realize your prospect of admission is slim to none!

Members don't see this ad.