Need Advice: USP vs. Reapply next year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Konmavro

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

First let me introduce myself. My name is Konstantinos and I just joined this site. I am a recent graduate from Rutgers University and got my B.S. in Exercise Science and Sport Studies. I want to go to physical therapy school and was recently accepted to The University of the Sciences in Philadelphia. There is a catch though...they accepted me to the "last pre-professional" phase of the program. This entails me re-taking the last undergrad year before I start the professional physical therapy part of the program. I have already taken many of the classes in this phase and the school has been pretty vague on explaining this situation fully to me. Also, they make it seem like this is the only option as I wouldn't be able to pick and choose classes to re-take. I was wondering if anyone has been in this situation before and has any advice about me pursuing/passing on this opportunity. I was wait listed at the Joint Rutgers/UMDNJ Camden program and also have the option of reapplying next year after heightening my credentials. The USP program would allow me to breeze into the PT program as long as I obtain a 3.0 on this pre-professional phase, but it would cost me a year of tuition and schooling. Please, any advice or similar situations would help me a lot as I am laboring on accepting or taking a year off. Thanks in advance and I am happy to have found a place like this.

Members don't see this ad.

What's your GPA and GRE scores? If they are good enough and don't get into Rutgers, I say take a year off, get a full-time job with your degree and re-apply to some other schools as early as you can. It seems like USP is being ridiculous with their requirements. I, personally, would not go to school for another year and get in more debt for USP. Good luck to you.