1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Need apartment-hunting help!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by closertofine, Apr 18, 2004.

1. closertofine

closertofine Emerging from hibernation
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I know these questions are probably going to sound pretty naive, but this is my first time trying to find an apartment in a new city. I'm planning on moving to St. Louis by the end of May to work in a summer research program before starting med school at Wash U.

So I have some general apartment-hunting questions. I'm thinking I'll fly out to St. Louis sometime in the next few weeks to look at possibilities...and I'm wondering about how long this kind of trip generally takes...can you do it in two days or so?

Also, I guess this may be more specific to St. Louis, but is it pretty much necessary to rent a car? I've never rented one before...but I guess there's a first time for everything! I've looked at a few websites to try to find possible apartments, but I'm still pretty clueless...would you just write down a few addresses and hope that you can find them when you get there?

And another issue: my mom wants to fly out with me and help me look...but I tend to think that I'd be fine on my own, and that it might be kind of weird to have a parent along...what do you think?