Need help adding 1 or 2 more schools!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DUPH

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I've asked before for help and it was great. I narrowed down my school choices to 11, but to be on the VERY safe side I want to apply to maybe one or two more.

In terms of my stats, I am a CA resident; I graduated with a biochem degree with a cGPA 3.88 and sGPA 3.9+ at a CSU. I have over 1000 plus hours of research for two different labs and worked as a calculus tutor for my university throughout college. I was also the treasurer of my prepharm club (switched from pharm to dental recently). In terms of shadowing and volunteering, I volunteered at a local elementary school as a tutor for roughly 400+ hrs. For shadowing, I've shadowed 3 different dentists for roughly 110 hours (hope to get this up). I have 3 letters of rec: 1 from a dentist and 2 from my PI's/former science professors.

My dat scores were: 22 AA, 21 TS, 25 PAT, 20 RC, 24 GC, 23 OC, 19 Bio

The schools I am applying to are:

UCSF, UCLA, UOP, USC, Western, Uni. of Colorado, OHSU, UConn, UPenn, Pitt and NYU.

I am currently thinking about applying to:

The Ohio State, UB (not sure how friendly they are with CA residents), and UMinn

What do you guys think? Suggestions on other schools would be great! Thanks in advance for the help.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Colorado isn't really friendly toward out of state people. I'm not sure if California is included in their western agreement. I'd check. They take a lot of people from surrounding states but reject a lot of qualified applicants otherwise. Is CSU in Colorado or California? I'd assume if it was Colorado your chances would increase slightly since you went to undergrad in their state.

I'd maybe add Columbia. They'd look highly upon your research, and it's worth a shot with a 22AA.

Members don't see this ad :)