Need help with mediastinitis secondary to barium

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Second Doctor

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a third year med student new to sdn. I'm doing my surgery rotation right now. Long story short -> Knowing that I'd like to become a radiologist, one of my attendings asked me to find information and do a presentation on mediastinitis secondary to leakage of barium from the esophagus. He was unaware of this phenomenon, heard it from a radiology attending, and asked me to look into it so that he, the residents, and the students can learn from it. I want to do a good job on it but information on this topic has been hard to come by. I asked the radiology attending and he told me that this was a pretty fundamental concept. He showed me a passage in one of his books (this was before I was asked to do a presentation on it, back when I was just asked to verify the phenomenon existed). I went back to see him today and he's going to let me photocopy the book tomorrow. But other than that, I can't seem to find this phenomenon anywhere. The hospital library revealed zilch. I found one article on Medline and Ovid from 2000, which my school doesn't have access to, so I've ordered it but I have no idea if it's even going to be germane.

Does anyone have any ideas on where I can get some information on this? If it's in a textbook, there had to have been some treatise on it at some point. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.