need help!!!!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silver037

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a degree in Marketing with Health&Sciences minor. Unfortunately my gpa sucks! It is 2.9.. I took some prereqs as well when I was in college but still need to take orgo and physics. I am wondering if i still have any chance of getting into a dental schools if i get a good score on DAT.
Here are my questions if you lovely people can help me out..

1. Can I take those prereq courses again to raise my GPA? I mean, can I repeat them if i didn't do too well? are they called post bac?

2. Should I take extra science courses such as anatomy?

3. Can I take classes from a community college?

3. Even though I have a bad GPA from a non-science major...do i still have a chance??

Thanks in advance!!!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't have an answer for most of your questions. But I do know that some schools give higher preferance for applicants who take their pre-requisites at a four year college/university. Although I have read plenty of posts from people who say they went to community college and think that's just fine. If they took community college classes and got into dental school, then mabye it is fine. Who really knows . . . but just so you have an example, below is an excerpt from UIC's website. Maybe others can give some insight regarding your other questions.

"The Admissions committee strongly prefers that the prerequisite science courses be taken at a four-year United States College/University. We do not limit Community College course work, but we strongly recommend that student take their courses at a four-year U.S. institution."

Technically, you can choose to do whatever you want. But it would probably be wise to
research the schools you're most interested in to find out what their preferances are.