Need Honest, non-gunner, advice on Low MCAT Score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wildcat96

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have never created a thread, but I am in need of some help. So I first took the MCAT July 27, 2017 and received a 503 (126/123/129/125). I studied pretty extensively for only two months and scored 505, 507 on my last two practice tests (AAMC FL1,2).

Retook the test July 7, 2018 and just received a 501 (125/125/128/123). I studied very hard and scored three 509's on practice tests (Next Step, AAMC FL3) and took around 6 FL practice tests before.

To go down 8 points from your recent FL that I took 3 days before, I am at a loss for what is going wrong. Can anybody offer any advice or share similar situations. I know that I have very low chances of admission with a 501 and will probably have to take two gap years, but if that happens, I'm not giving up and I'll take it again, but need to know what to fix.

Sorry for the long post everybody, just trying to get through this.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you have test taking anxiety issues? If so, those can be fixed.
You're fine for DO schools. Apply broadly.
I can't recommend Touro-NY, Nova, Wm Carey, LUCOM, for different reasons. MSUCOM? Read up on Larry Nasser and you decide.

Do you have test taking anxiety issues? If so, those can be fixed.
You're fine for DO schools. Apply broadly.
I can't recommend Touro-NY, Nova, Wm Carey, LUCOM, for different reasons. MSUCOM? Read up on Larry Nasser and you decide.

I've never had test anxiety in my life, but I do have GAD, so that could be it. I'm on medication so I'm not sure how else to fix it.

Members don't see this ad :)