Jan 4, 2016
Status
Pre-Physical Therapy
Some background:
I’m in the process of applying to one particular DPT program which is located close to where I currently live. My worry is that my undergraduate degree/GPA along with a rather weak resume is holding me back. I majored in Sociology and ended up with a GPA of ~3.1. I was not a particularly driven or happy person during that time, but I eventually started getting decent grades towards my junior and senior years. My resume includes mostly physical labor jobs with no volunteering or anything that makes me stand out.

Some positives:
I have taken the pre-requisites science classes and have gotten all A and A- grades. I also have gotten a recommendation from the head of the exercise physiology department of where I am applying, and received an A in his EP class. I am currently studying for the GRE and doing some observation. I am only applying to this one school because most other schools require biology which I have not taken.

Some questions:
Do I have any chance of making it into a DPT program? If so, should I spend the next year doing volunteer work and taking more classes to apply to other programs? Would it be any easier to try becoming a physical therapy assistant first, and then later applying to a DPT program? If this a completely foolish endeavor, what are some other jobs in the medical industry which I could potentially pivot to?

VitaminPT

2+ Year Member
Apr 6, 2015
Status
Other Health Professions Student, Pre-Physical Therapy
I'll answer some points here.

First, I'm glad you're looking for honesty. That's a good first step. A 3.1 isn't the best to apply for school with, but you can do it if you are selective on where you apply. Chances are, without phenomenal GRE and prereq scores, public state school will be a challenge (not impossible!) maybe aim for private institutions or newer, soon to be accredited programs.