need some love...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bucky

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's another "what do you think I shoud do" posts:

I'm 32, graduated 5 years ago with a BS in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology after a subpar undergraduate career filled with dropping out once only to return to finish my last years while working 30 hours/week as a Nursing Assistant in a hospital. My numbers according to ACOMAS are 2.68 science and 2.5 overall. I've taken the MCAT twice, both times with a composite score of 26...first time was 6, 10, 10 and second three years later was 9,8,9. I'm preparing to take the April MCAT.
After I graduated I started working at a cancer research institute working in Basic Sciences. I left that job and started working at a biotech upstart three years ago. I have contributed to two published papers and two others are in the works. I've also done a wide range of volunteering. Last year I took a year long course in Anatomy that included a lab with prosected cadavers.
So...I'm planning to apply June 1st with the "underdog, life experience, if I'd known then what I know now" theme but am grappling with what else I should do. Post bacc? Master's program affiliated with a medical school? Or a separate program all together? PA school?
Thanks for your time and good luck with all your endeavors!

Members don't see this ad.

It seems to me that you'd be a shoe-in....except for your GPA (MCAT could be a little higher too...but I got in with a 27, so it's not impossible). Unfortunately, that GPA may prevent you from receiving most secondary applications. More than likely, you'll HAVE to take a post-bacc program to help it out. I don't know much about those so I'll defer more advice to someone who does....

PS- I'm 30...the "other life" experience is definitely a plus....

[This message has been edited by Cobragirl (edited April 01, 2001).]